Spool’s Out Radio #81: Equip

Equip released a visionary tape towards the end of this year, documenting a video game dreamworld increasingly envisioned by a bit-obsessed branch of the vaporwave family tree. He’s provided us with a neat little mix of classic and underrated gaming scores. Hit ↑, ↑, ↓, ↓, ←, →, ←, →, B, A, start, select, and enjoy…

email // tristan@spools-out.com
tweet // @SplsOut


  1. Koji Kondo – Epona’s Song (from Ocarina of Time)
  2. Jade Statues – Executive Suite (Dream Catalogue)
  3. Dave Wise, Eveline Fischer, Robin Beanland – Mine Cart Madness (from Donkey Kong Country)
  4. Dave Wise, Eveline Fischer, Robin Beanland – Cave Dweller Concert (from Donkey Kong Country)

Equip’s Mix:

  1. Crystal Room (from Final Fantasy III) – Nobuo Uematsu
  2. Bonds of Sea & Fire (from Xenogears) – Yasunori Mitsuda
  3. Always Together (from Secret of Mana) – Hiroki Kikuta
  4. Secret of the Forest (from Chrono Trigger) – Yasunori Mitsuda
  5. The Serpent Trench (from Final Fantasy V) – Nobuo Uematsu
  6. Robo Gang Johnny (from Chrono Trigger) – Yasunori Mitsuda
  7. Save Music (from Final Fantasy) – Nobuo Uematsu
  8. Fishing (from Socotra Island) – Amun Dragoon
  9. Over The Waterfall/Miniboss (from Secret of Evermore) – Jeremy Soule
  10. Fanfare (from Final Fantasy VII) – Nobuo Uematsu
  11. Flight (from Panzer Dragoon) – Yoshitaka Azuma
  12. Night In Dream City (from Dreams) – Winter Sleep
  13. Ancient Weapon 1 (from Panzer Dragoon Orta) – Yutaka Minobe
  14. Incidents of Mirror Travel (from Dream Date OST) – Dog Man
  15. People Of The Moon (from Final Fantasy IV) – Nobuo Uematsu
  16. The Legend (from Secret Of Mana) – Hiroki Kikuta
  17. ………..melancholic……. (from OST (1).zip) – R23X
  18. Final Battle (from Final Fantasy IX) – Nobuo Uematsu
  19. Any Snack You’d Like (from Divorce Batteries) – Peach & Plum

Post-mix tunes:

  1. Koji Kondo – Inside the Castle Walls (from Super Mario 64)
  2. Equip – Reunited (Dream Catalogue)
  3. Aftawerks – Linton Acid (Acid Waxa)
  4. Expanding Universe – Cosmic Energy (Sector 12/12)
  5. Kobayashi Yamoto – The Android’s Spirit – アンドロイドの精神 – Story 1996 (Dream Catalogue)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s